top of page
  • Writer's picturerebekah

A Recap of My Visit to Arlington

Hi friends! This past weekend was incredible, I visited with some family, and was able to go to Arlington Cemetery with my beloved grandparents. So today I would like to briefly discuss what it was like there!


*All images that are not mine are linked and credited to Arlington's website*


First of all, I didn’t even cover half of Arlington. I always knew it was big, but I never realised just how much space it took up. I admit I was shocked when I arrived. The yards go on forever it seemed like, and the endless, straight rows of white gravestones were so much to take in. When we got there, we visited the gravesite of a family member who had been buried there, which was all the way in Section 67. If you’re familiar with Arlington, you’ll know it's a long way away from the entrance. Luckily there is a free bus chartering service, so we didn’t have to walk almost an hour to get there.


After that, we decided to walk to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. That was a lengthy walk, but along the way, we were able to see various interesting bits of Arlington I’d never heard about. That’s what I’ll be highlighting from now on. Aside from my personal rabbit trails to random graves that piqued my interest, I was able to see six landmarks.


After my family member’s gravestone, I came across the memorial built in dedication to the USS Serpens. Around the top, it reads: “Here in rest those who lost their lives in the sinking of USS Serpens World War II Jan 29 1945.” I literally stumbled across this monument, not knowing anything at all about it. It was a very sobering thing to behold the endless amount of names on the stone. The sinking of the USS Serpens was the biggest disaster that occurred to the US Coast Guard during World War II. On January 29th, 1945, while on the coast of the Guadalcanal in the Solomon Islands, the ammunition stored on the Serpens detonated, causing a massive explosion and killing 250 people. There were only 10 survivors, and only two bodies were identified. If you would like to read more about this event, click this link to Arlington’s website: https://www.arlingtoncemetery.mil/Explore/Monuments-and-Memorials/USS-Serpens



That particular day, a family was holding a funeral for their passed loved one. I was able to witness the full Army Band marching and drumming in the procession, as well as the horse carrion. To say the least, I have never witnessed something as touching as that before.


Next, we saw the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Among all of Arlington Cemetery, this was the single most solemn yet peaceful place I saw. Out of respect, everyone observing the tomb was completely silent. I was very moved and touched by this location. Never before have I been somewhere so quiet, it was almost surreal. I was fortunate enough to be able to witness the Changing of the Guard, as well as the Wreath Laying Ceremony performed at 12:00. It was a time many, including myself, reflected on those who lost their lives for America. I was sobered and brought to tears while observing. The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier actually houses many soldiers. But the first was an unidentified US soldier who was killed in World War I. Since this WWI veteran was placed in the marble sarcophagus, WWII, Korean War, and Vietnam Unknown soldiers have also occupied it. For more information, visit: https://www.arlingtoncemetery.mil/Explore/Tomb-of-the-Unknown-Soldier



The Changing of the Guard and Wreath Laying was what brought me to tears. The amount of training undergone by our military personnel to have such an esteemed position is incredible to me. But the truly moving moment was the Wreath Laying. Here, the Army Band provided the bugle ceremony in honour and respect for the unknown soldiers as a memorial wreath was laid in front of and behind the Tomb.


After the Tomb of the Unknown, we made our way to the Eternal Flame, where former President John F. Kennedy resides, alongside his son, Patrick Bouvier Kennedy, his former wife Jaqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis, and a stillborn daughter. Three of President Kennedy’s brothers are also buried near his grave. Former Attorney General and Senator Robert F. Kennedy, Naval Pilot Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr., and former Senator Edward M. Kennedy are commemorated with simple white crosses and gravestones. President Kennedy is one of two to be buried in Arlington, the other being William H. Taft (unfortunately I was not able to visit his gravesite). JFK was buried in Arlington a few days after his assassination in 1963. Jacqueline Kennedy lit the flame that now burns at their gravesites. If you would like to read more about the Kennedy family buried in Arlington, visit: https://www.arlingtoncemetery.mil/Explore/Monuments-and-Memorials/President-John-F-Kennedy-Gravesite



I was also able to see various smaller monuments, including the tree and stone in memory of the helicopter pilots during the Vietnam War depicted here




The Sir John Dill Memorial was another I visited. I was struck by the wonderful sculpture of Sir John upon his horse. If you aren’t familiar with his name, Sir John Dill was a British Field Marshall during the South African War and World War I. For more information, click the following link: https://www.arlingtoncemetery.mil/Explore/Monuments-and-Memorials/Dill-Memorial



And finally, I saw the monument to the 551st Parachute Infantry Battalion. The marker reads: “551st Parachute Infantry Battalion in remembrance ne les oubliez jamais World War II.” For those who don’t speak French, it says “Never forget them.” The 551st Battalion was part of the 1st Airborne Task Force. They were originally meant to go to the French Caribbean, however, were sent to Europe instead and fought in the Battle of the Bulge. If you would like to learn more about this Battalion, please visit their website https://551pib.us/history/ and consider donating to their cause.



To end this post, I would like to sincerely give my thanks to the US military. To the families who have ancestors in the Spanish-American, Civil, and Revolutionary Wars, you and your veteran ancestors are not forgotten, and not unappreciated, thank you. As there are no surviving veterans from WWI, my sincere thanks to them and to all their families still living. To all the surviving and passed WWII veterans and their families, thank you for your services to our country. To all Korean War veterans, surviving and passed, and their families, thank you. My sincerest thanks to all surviving and passed Vietnam War veterans and their families. Thank you to all surviving and passed veterans of the Iraq and Afghanistan War. Everyone who served in our nation’s military deserves the utmost respect and honor, regardless of their position. I am leaving links to military organisations below that all of my readers can visit and learn about or donate to their causes. There are more websites for each war, so I encourage you to find some!







Opmerkingen


bottom of page